A week(ish) in interneting

Hi, sisters,

I haven’t had a ton of down time (do I ever?), since I’m out in the garden most evenings, but I often unwind with the internet before bed or on an occasional lazy morning when neither the cats nor I procrastinate on moving for awhile. Besides my daily wanderings through facebook and Tumblr, these are the places I’ve been enjoying on the interwebs the past week or so, in no particular order. Maybe someday I’ll figure out how to add fancy links in sentences. For now we’re doing the old school click-the-web-address-or-watch-the-embedded-video style.

I’ve been following this guy (http://denningdrawing.blogspot.com) for awhile. I don’t remember how I found out about him. He posts daily drawings and I find them hauntingly beautiful.

At a Southern Food party that ended in rain last week, the host introduced me to the flow wand.

It is amazing to watch and pretty fun to play with.

My friend’s wife adds fire.

That isn’t her there, but this is her giving a basic fire-free tutorial if you’re curious how it works.

I’m usually looking at this site (http://regionalnewsnetwork.blogspot.com/) to see which of my clients have been arrested, but it is also a good place to get any southern tier news, since I don’t listen to the radio much. Ever, really.

Did I tell you about the Lizzie Bennet Diaries? I think that I made Martha watch some of it with me once. It is a modern day adaptation of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice, where Elizabeth Bennet as a master’s student in media communications and the story told through a vlog she starts for one of her classes. I followed it as it aired (youtubed? interneted? wirelessed?) last year and really enjoyed it. I have a lot of trouble getting into Jane Austen–I have trouble connecting with the language, I think–but this series made the story very accessible to me. Pemberly Digital recently posted two more videos, showing Lizzie and Darcy together a year later. I think the new episodes were put together to advertise for the book they are selling based on the series, but it was a nice surprise to have the story continue a little longer. This should be the first episode and take you through all of them that appeared on a few different channels.

I’m also following similar adaptations of Jane Austen’s Emma and J.M. Barrie’s Peter Pan. I haven’t fallen in love with them quite as hard as I did the LBD, but they’re still fun. Peter Pan especially. You see how those words are links? I would love to know why I was able to link those words and none of the other words I used the same formatting with.

I have a lot of blogs in my feedly but I’m not keeping up with many of them these days. Most my blog reading these days are from blogs of people I know (to varying degrees) doing interesting things. You’re reading Jill’s blog, right? http://growinggood.typepad.com/ It is so good to see those wonderful faces, to meet baby Miles from afar, and to read her thoughts on finding and cultivating good in her world. I went to college with the OneArmGirl (http://www.theonearmgirl.com/) and she writes a lot about learning to love and use her body, plus equine therapy, her dog, naps, and much more. Matt at http://boonieadjacent.com/, who I met at a work training a few years ago, is learning by doing about homesteading and currently working on an organic, open pollinated seed farm. I’ve always enjoyed Ruby Tomorrow (http://rubytomorrow.blogspot.com/)–I don’t know her super well in the real world, but I enjoy how she writes.

I go to the Fedco website (http://www.fedcoseeds.com/) pretty frequently right now. It is where I usually order my seeds from and they have a lot of good information about planting distances and such things.

Following up on my Game of Thrones question, I found a website (http://www.innatthecrossroads.com/) that attempts to recreate all the food listed in the books. Fans. I tell you. So I made a beet/green been/onion salad from that site that was good enough to make maybe its way into regular rotation (http://www.innatthecrossroads.com/2011/04/17/salad-of-green-beans-onions-and-beets/). I also made an almond lemon cake just found on the interwebs (http://www.texanerin.com/2012/06/grain-free-italian-lemon-almond-cake-torta-caprese-bianca.html), since one of the only food-related things I actually remember from the book is that Sansa likes lemon cakes and the recipe looked fun. It wasn’t quite as freshly lemony as I hoped. I didn’t have the lemon extract so I put in extra zest and juice. If I were to do it again I think I might try a glaze with fresh lemon juice. It was still good enough to have a piece for breakfast today, though.

That’s enough, I suppose. There’s a glorious thunderstorm brewing outside. So nice of it to wait until dark so I could get some stuff done in the garden. Thunderstorms are one of the many reasons I love summer. Good night, sisters. Sleep well.

Love,

Janna

5 thoughts on “A week(ish) in interneting

  1. The flow wand just blew my mind! That is so cool. Thanks for sharing your interneting preferences. I love going down other people’s internet rabbitholes.

  2. Adding to the strangeness of the links in this post, did you notice that the title of the post is a link to that Emma Woodhouse youtube video? Odd.
    I like seeing the places you go on the internet. Especially the food ones, of course! 🙂

    1. That’s so weird. Wonder why it did that. I definitely didn’t put any links in the title. Maybe it is some WordPress automatic something or other? Specific, I know…

  3. That was very interesting! I’ve never heard of a lot of those things. Those flow sticks were really crazy. I enjoyed those Lizzie Benett diaries but never finished them. We did end up continuing to watch Orphan Black, though 🙂

Leave a Reply

