On Shakespeare and Other Randomnesses

Happy Tuesday, sisters!

Today I will write about Shakespeare, and about pets, and about moving and possessions. Before I start though, an update to my last post for our readers: I got the cool job at my company! Woooo! I start on Monday.

Okay now, on Shakespeare: Sunday night Marcus and I went to Shakespeare in Delaware Park with our dear friends the Wach family. It was a beautiful day for it, with plenty of people (from ages 3 to 93 it seemed!) sitting on a hill looking down on the outdoor stage. The show, Henry V, lasted three hours which was a long time to not have back support (when did I get so old!?) but we still enjoyed it. Well, mostly enjoyed it. I think there are three types of people: 1) people who zone out during Shakespeare plays after paying attention for about 10 minutes (Marcus, Mr. Wach, and the youngest Wach daughter fall into this category), 2) people who politely pay attention out of respect for the actors and the perceived significance of Shakespeare (Mrs. Wach), and 3) people who genuinely enjoy the universal and poetic nature of Shakespeare’s plays (the middle Wach child). I can’t quite figure out if I fall into category 2 or 3, but regardless it was a lovely evening eating good food and drinking wine with friends while being intellectually stimulated / bombarded with complex sentence structure and made-up sounding words. Puissance, by the way, means great power. They used it about five times before we got so annoyed wondering what it meant that we finally looked it up!

The stage for Shakespeare in the Park. There were two free standing towers to light the stage when it got dark.
The stage for Shakespeare in the Park. There were two free-standing towers to light the stage when it got dark.

About pets now: A couple people brought pets, and it was so cute to see dogs warm up to new people or cuddle with their masters. It made me and Marcus yearn for a pet. I like how pets bridge gaps between people. There was this little dog that came with a young couple and it ended up charming its way onto the laps of an older couple. Whenever I go to a new house, I instantly feel more comfortable if there’s a pet to interact with. Marcus and I probably aren’t ready for a dog though, so maybe we’ll start with a cat. How much care and cost are your cats, sisters?

On moving and possessions: Moving is incredibly annoying, but it is exciting to settle in to a new place!! Going through all our possessions makes me and Marcus think: do we really need all this stuff?? But then we also realize how much stuff we’re missing! For example, we have one bowl, very few good knives, no dresser, and no bookshelves. Trying to live simply and hearing about housing costs also makes us very interested in the Tiny House Movement. Not just for costs and simplicity, but also low environmental impact. We need/want it to have high ceilings though, we love the high ceilings in our apartment! While sitting on Marcus’s brother’s porch yesterday we decided we would like to have the second floor of a tiny house either as a sun room or a covered porch πŸ™‚ A tiny house would be hard for kids though. We shall see.

The door into our apartment, with its nice high ceilings and our Walmart shoe rack! :)
The door into our apartment, with its nice high ceilings and our Walmart shoe rack πŸ˜€

Marcus read this and would like me to clarify: he didn’t COMPLETELY zone out after 10 minutes. He may be in the gray area between categories 1 and 2 of Shakespeare Watchers. Miss you, sisters, and hope your weeks are going well.

– Esther –

6 thoughts on “On Shakespeare and Other Randomnesses

  1. Having a cat is more cost and care than I thought! I think still much less than a 100 lb Rhodesian Ridgeback, though. πŸ™‚ We paid $75 to the SPCA to adopt her, then had to buy a litterbox, food, food dish, water dish and a little bed. We took her to the vet 3 or 4 times for shots and such which added up quickly. Now, though, things are fine–she’s pretty low maintenance. She likes it when we play with her but also can entertain herself with cat toys and various objects. She is entertaining and cuddly and we like her a lot.
    We also love tiny houses and Shakespeare! So much to love about this post. πŸ™‚ I would like to get rid of a lot of our stuff when we move again. It’s hard, stuff accumulates easily and then it requires so much work to sort through it all and make a decision about every little thing. Living in a small house means you cannot accumulate as much stuff, so that’s a big bonus, I think.
    Krestia is for sure a strong category 3 when it comes to Shakespeare. I do enjoy it but, like you, I think I’m somewhere between a 2 and 3. The language takes some getting used to–it’s beautiful but a bit dense and sometimes it goes by too fast for me and I start to lose focus. I still like to go to a Shakespeare performance every summer though! Which reminds me we need to get to one this summer.

  2. Well, Enzi dog costs us a lot of money and I haven’t had a cat so I have no idea about costs. I wouldn’t recommend a cat or any pet to anyone if you don’t know where you are going to be in the next few years, because it seems like so many people I know have to give up their pets when they make big life changes! I adore Enzi but it is a huge commitment to have him, we have to arrange holidays around him and moving him internationally was super expensive.

    I went to see a Shakespeare in the Park in Vancouver years ago and I remember enjoying it but I’m not an avid Shakespearean type. I remember a college English professor saying once that English speakers are the most disadvantaged when it comes to Shakespeare, because other languages get translations and we don’t (because even though it is in English, it is in a very very different dialect of English). When I watch Shakespeare I feel like I need subtitles!

  3. I think I’m in the same boat Shakespeare-wise. I kind of prefer watching movie adaptations because the body language and expressions are usually so clear that I can understand what people are saying through that added support. Joss Whedon’s “Much Ado About Nothing” was like that. I found it to be really light in tone and full of humor. More dramatic plays can be harder for me to follow. I don’t like sad things.

    I don’t know about the cat thing. Kelcy isn’t too expensive in her old age. We don’t take her to the vet very often and she doesn’t eat a ton of food. It is tricky to find new rental spaces when you move and you often have to pay more for dogs than for cats. If you guys are thinking about traveling overseas or anything like that it might be good to wait on the pet. I sometimes wish there was a rent-a-pet organization!

  4. It’s my experience that cats are expensive at the beginning. Like Rachel said, there were a lot of vet fees for shots and such, plus litter boxes. I had to pay to get mine spayed and neutered, but if you go from the SPCA I’m guessing they might do that for you. The costs now are mainly food and litter, and costs for that will depend on what brands you get of those. There are also some yearly shots they have to get the first couple years. I’ve been thinking recently that I might not sit still enough for cats. They really like laps. I justified my Supernatural marathon last night with spending some quality time with the cats. πŸ˜‰
    Yay Shakespeare! I would guess I’m somewhere in the lower end of watcher type 3. I’m not a hard core fan–I don’t read Shakespeare much on my own or anything. But I love the poetry and creativity of the language and watching what good performers can do with it. Seeing Kenneth Branagh and Alex Kingston in MacBeth this past weekend was amazing. Maybe I’ll write more about that some day.
    Fun fact: puissant means powerful in French.

    1. There was a line from the play I meant to put in the post that I thought you all would appreciate:

      “I consider thine deed another Fall of Man!” πŸ™‚

  5. There was a line from the play I meant to put in the post:

    “I consider thine deed another Fall of Man!” It was so dramatic and poetic, I loved hearing lines like that and imagining myself using them I daily life πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

