Friday links–Jewel edition

If I had a normal job I would probably have more internet-y style links to share with you. Back when I worked the circulation desk at the library I would be exploring the inter-webs often during my down time and that’s when I first discovered blogs and pinterest. These days though, my blog reading has condensed to a few of my favorites and my considerable down time at home is spent reading and watching shows on Netflix. Because I have most of the day free, I tend to limit my tv watching during the day. I end up feeling like a lazy bum if I’ve spent the morning watching something. Oddly enough, I don’t feel bad at all spending evenings watching tv. During the day I tend to read books as they don’t make me feel as lazy.  Many mornings you can find me with a cup of chai tea, curled up on the futon with Kelcy reading a book. I feel like I need to add a disclaimer that I don’t spend ALL of my time reading and watching movies. I may only work 4-5 hours teaching in the afternoon/evening, but I still try to do productive things with most of my time ;-).

So instead of links to cool blogs and videos I thought I’d share what I’ve been reading/watching for the past few months.

I don't need to stay up late to read anymore. But I was guilty of staying up way too late on a school night because I HAD TO FINISH MY BOOK!
I don’t need to stay up late to read anymore. But I was guilty of staying up way too late on a school night because I HAD TO FINISH MY BOOK!

Books: I’m really on a mystery kick lately and tend towards historical mystery series like the Maisie Dobbs series by Jacqueline Winspear set in the 1930s, the Midwife’s Mysteries by Sam Thomas set in the 1640s, the non-historical Inspector Gamache series by Louise Penney set in Quebec, and the Dido Kent series by Anna Dean set in the 1820s. I’m also a fan of fantasy/science fiction and have enjoyed the Peter Grant series of Ben Aaronovitch which is described as Harry Potter meets CSI, and I loved the Edda of Burdens trilogy by Elizabeth Bear which is described as a postapocalyptic melodrama loosely based on Norse mythology.

Also, if you speak to me/shout at me/say my name over and over again while I'm reading, I will probably not notice you at all.
Also, if you speak to me/shout at me/say my name over and over again while I’m reading, I will probably not notice you at all.

In the non fiction/thought provoking reading arena I’ve just finished C. S. Lewis’s The Great Divorce and Jesus Wept: When Faith and Depression Meet by Barbara C. Crafton. The Great Divorce is such a clever imaginative take on Heaven and Hell; I’ve grown to really love C. S. Lewis’s writings. Jesus Wept is an incredible exploration of depression. I feel drawn to the subject of depression because many people I know have struggled with it and it is something I could struggle with post baby (NOT AN ANNOUNCEMENT) someday. Though I know it’s impossible to truly relate to the struggles other people have with depression, I’m hoping if I read enough about it I can empathize to some extent. Another great insight into depression/mental illness is Maria Bamford’s comedy special on Netflix, it’s a bit kooky at times, but I love hearing her hilarious perspective on her own mental illness.

TV: I tend to watch tv with Kevin in the evenings and he is not a fan of dark/critically acclaimed shows. I usually agree with him. We tried Breaking Bad and Dexter and found them too bloody. I love British tv shows like Ripper Street, Luther, Miss Marple, the Australian Miss Fischer’s Murder Mysteries, and Sherlock (which Kevin loves too). Together we tend to watch light hearted comedic shows like Parks and Rec, Modern Family, Brooklyn 99, Warehouse 13, How I Met Your Mother. Recently I’ve started watching Endeavor (the first series is on Amazon Prime) and Vicious (available on PBS) with Ian McKellen and Derek Jacobi. While watching I work on the paper wreaths for Esther’s wedding! 4 down, 3 to go.

I think that’s all for now. What are you all watching/reading?

Love,
Jewel

3 thoughts on “Friday links–Jewel edition

  1. I’ll have to look into some of those books at some point. That Norse mythology series sounds especially interesting. Most of my “reading” is done by listening while I’m driving. I’m catching up on EscapePod, a science fiction short story podcast, currently. I’m trying out Welcome to Night Vale too, at the recommendation of some friends. I don’t think I love it as much as they do, but it is clever. Lightspeed is one of my favorite podcasts–well-read scifi and fantasy. I don’t find much time for watching in the summer–too much to do outside. But winter is coming. Gah. Supernatural is my current guilty pleasure. I’m embarrassed to admit it. I haven’t watched it in awhile but managed to squeeze in a couple episodes this week while making roses. Some friends and I were working through Orphan Black, but we haven’t done that in awhile. We’re planning to go see “Guardians of the Galaxy” the weekend it comes out. I love me some Sherlock and because I love Esther I will not immediately watch the first episode of the new Doctor Who that comes out on her wedding day ;).
    Your mornings at home sound lovely.

  2. I should watch some Maria Bamford, I heard her interviewed by Terri Gross and she was hilarious!
    Sigh, reading books is such a luxury. When I lay down in bed to read I get sleepy within 5 minutes. I read The New Yorker (our subscription just ran out! We have to renew) and blogs. We are watching The Office on Netflix–we manage to watch a few episodes a week, usually. When that’s over we need to catch up on Mad Men and House of Cards (both kinda dark and dramatic, but good!). Enjoy all your reading and leisure time now, dear sister. When you have kids you will not have much time for such things….

  3. I am reading through a book of Irish short stories and a book about Irish History (The Course of Irish History by TW Moody), which is surprisingly enjoyable to read. We have been watching tons of stuff. Bradley really enjoys Dirty Jobs with Mike Rowe (when we clean the bathrooms, Archer says ‘this is a dirty job!’) and Oddities, about the antique-y store in New York City called Obscura that specializes in weird stuff. We also started watching the cartoon Archer after the kids go to bed, which we resisted for a long time but now love, it is hilarious. It has a Simpsons feel to it–great writing, but crude 🙂 And our latest love is Antiques Roadshow. We kind of love shows about antiques.

Leave a Reply

