On the Road Again

Marcus and I took yet another road trip this past weekend. It is so difficult  not to go somewhere every weekend! We love summer in Buffalo, but we also love visiting family. Even if we visit each of our families only once per month, that’s still 2 weekends a month away from our apartment! Not to mention that I have immediate family in Ithaca, in Alfred, in New Jersey, and in Ireland!! Makes it difficult to stay home. But regardless, this past weekend wasn’t JUST to visit, we also got some good wedding planning done. I’m getting extremely excited for the day. We have the ceremony laid out, the seating arrangements done, the decorations well underway, and the biggest thing remaining is to practice our first dance! I just convinced Marcus this weekend to do a first dance salsa with me, so we’ve got lots to do in the next three weeks on figuring out the steps and song 🙂

Anyway, our road trip got me thinking to all the different games, music, and conversation I like while on the road. Driving places with Marcus is pretty fun. We mix it up listening to music, talking, or occasionally him letting me nap. I thought I’d give you a sampler of how we keep ourselves occupied! I’ll start off with some of our latest road trip soundtrack songs:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d6aRvVTSC0I: Keep on Loving Me by the Whispers. Such a great, peppy, R&B/pop song. Makes me smile singing it with my man.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mWRsgZuwf_8: Demons by Imagine Dragons. This one fulfills my occasional need for belting angsty, emotional lyrics.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kwHACITShSI: How Will I Know by Sam Smith, covering Whitney Houston. This one is so raw and emotional.

Another fun activity was doing personality analysis on us and our friends. More specifically, on how our relationship with each other’s friends would be if the other person wasn’t in the picture. That was one topic. If I met that friend of Marcus’s at a party or event without Marcus, how would I have liked him or her? How would we have interacted and would we have developed a friendship? Another is how we would feel if left alone in a room with the other person’s friends. For example, if Marcus, said friend, and I were hanging out and Marcus had to leave for 2 or 3 hours, how would I feel? Would it be painfully awkward or would we be chillin out? It was very interesting discovering what Marcus thought of my friends, and thinking deeper into what I thought of Marcus’s. A fun exercise for any couple or pair of friends, I do believe.

Another good conversation topic was our honeymoon! I’m so excited. I realized that I haven’t had a real summer vacation in a while. Last summer we had a staycation with the family in Alfred, and I didn’t get a chance to go on a nature-y explore-y vacation because I was busy trying to have a job and be a real adult after graduating college. Talking about the possible activies (hiking, drive-in movies, boating, picnics on islands, tours, even scubadiving if it’s not too expensive) made me so happy. A week in the Thousand Islands in a cabin with Marcus sounds absolutely supercalifragilisticexpialidocious! Weirdly enough, WordPress is not trying to correct that word so maybe I spelled it right.

This was a little rambly, so I’ll end with another random tidbit: You’re all on my magnet strip by my desk at work, sisters! I love you dearly.

photo

See you soon at the Marcus-Esther wedding in three weeks 🙂

Love,

Esther

2 thoughts on “On the Road Again

  1. I’m so excited for you too! I can’t wait for your wedding and for all the beauty and fun and family that will happen around it. I’m happy you’re getting a vacation. Kevin and I are realizing going to WI is kind of like our only real vacation (just us) since our honeymoon! It’s a nice thing to do.

  2. I am so excited for your wedding and I am so so glad you got Marcus to agree to a first dance. I miss road trips with just Bradley – road trips are quite a bit more work with kids in the car. But that is the time of our lives and we enjoy it a lot in its own way 🙂

Leave a Reply

