Guest Post: Notes on an Ongoing Behavioural Cryptofamilial Study from B. D. Davis

Notes on an Ongoing Behavioural Cryptofamilial Study

B.D. Davis

 

Foreword

Current and future researchers know that our subjects are sentient, intelligent, and, crucially, literate. Findings must, nevertheless, be published. This creates an inherent conflict. My fellow researchers have reported their research findings (see above) with a strong overtone, even scaffolding, of humor. This is understandable as humor is often an effective barrier to the potential backlash from parties concerned. They are assuming, or perhaps just hoping, that the shotgun wielding nuns or Planeteers (as occasionally referred to) and their known associates will be misdirected from the coded ideas embedded within their works. This may be successful. Not being a risk taker, this is not how I will proceed.

Reported Findings

I have found that the best way to proceed is to be forthright, honest, and clear. Therefore, I will avoid humor, sarcasm, or other misdirections and simply state a few findings from my observations from the last 13 years of close interaction with and behavioral study of the buckwalterfamilialcryptids.

I have learned a few things about their culture. And while not foremost, an important understanding of the buckwalterfamilialcryptids (from here on known simply as the Coterie) is that they traditionally do not employ, are not as familiar with, and at least are not as practiced with non-direct communication (sarcasm, mordant humor, screwball humor, deadpan/dry humor  for example). This is not to say that humor is vacant. Clearly this is not the case.  The Coterie are familiar with and receptive to high brow humor, epigrammatic humor, and non-sophomoric situational humor. Most surprisingly, there is a strong use of, if not an appreciation for, the hyperbolic. This can be quite surprising as the Coterie comes across emotionally and relationally even keel and thus wanton use of hyperbole can throw the casual observer. Caution in this regard is advisable.

Allow me to give background on how I got involved with this group. I have always been interested in behaviour and particularly unique, disparate, or drifted behavioural pockets where exploration and new research is ripe. In my younger years I searched for a suitable study group. I have a sister, no brothers. So when I came across this clan I found it a natural fit and my familiar clan dynamics perhaps qualified me to live among them without suspicion. This appears to have worked well enough. I still possess full physical and mental faculties (admittedly, at least so much as I am aware of). However, I confess to not maintaining perfect objectivity during my tenure. In retrospect, I have allowed parts of my cultural background to bias my interactions with the Coterie. For example, I have never considered myself to be a person who thrives off of sarcasm, but rather leave it handy in my tool bag. Looking back through my field notes it has occurred to me that the incredible fertility of the soil for a sarcastic quip to land so well and be so momentarily productive that it simply makes not planting it nigh impossible. Sarcastic wit has not rusted in my tool bag. It will require further study to understand my impact on the cultural evolution of this tribe. And indeed of this long term study on the evolution of me.

On that note and at the risk of repercussions I must inform researchers that the Coterie are quick learners. I have noticed a sharp rise in the understanding of sarcastic wit and dry humor to the point where I fear for fellow researchers and myself. I have even noticed some unprecedented uses of the sarcastic processes in the cryptid that I have chosen as my primary focal study. I will keep you informed on the progress. It simply shows that the Coterie are intelligent and that their unquenchable thirst for knowledge is not limited to subject matters inherent to their own culture.

Additional findings highlight a strong moral foundation found within all members of the Coterie. While this is not usually a problem, it can be surprising to some and may explain otherwise unpredictable behavior. For example, this may affect the way members approach their relationships with extra-Coterie persons, career aspirations, life goals, and use of popcorn as a regular Sunday meal. An interesting and undeniably useful finding is that the strong moral foundation directly interacts with their inherent absence of indirect speech. A result, among other things, judgement or criticism of members of the Coterie has a much harsher impact than it would against individuals of other cultures. This should be well understood as it is both a useful knowledge tool for researchers and a way to avoid wrath. The carrot works better than the stick.

Finally, observations contend a strong gravitational pull within members to remain near the Coterie, both physically and emotionally. As an experiment within my observations I have removed my primary subject from the Coterie on three separate occasions at distances of 443km, 4,482km, and 5,221km, each for no more than 3 years. Researchers have conducted similar experiments with other members of the group–some experiments currently ongoing. My experiments have yielded consistent results and largely agree with those of other experimenters. Resistance is at first mild as the subject explores their new surroundings with curiosity and even zeal. At about six months into the experiment, however, the subject shows strong gravitational influences on their behavior and mental state. Alleviation of which can been achieved partially through Skype, email, facebook, and other medications. Extended experiments will beget visits from other Coterie members. This, so far, is found to be unavoidable. It appears that the attraction to both other Coterie members and to the physical ancestral grounds of the clan is constitutional and deep-rooted. I have been unable to keep my primary subject away from the familial grounds longer than three years.

Conclusions

Formal conclusions made at this time would be premature and likely inaccurate. Further research is needed. This observational and occasionally experimental research is invaluable for not only broadening our knowledge of this under studied, poorly understood group, but also for gathering information on how outside influences (even by researchers) affects clans of this type, and will help us understand other cultures and how to study them.

Appendix: Regarding funding

During my tenure, have have had two funding proposals approved (Application Archer and Application Era) and a  third proposal is in the works. Another researcher has also gathered funds in two successful proposals. I strongly recommend that my fellow researcher secure funding if they intend to further their research in this field. Laudably, I hear Kevin has drafted and submitted a proposal already. To Marcus in particular, then, I remind you that while you know inaugural funding is substantial whether or not it is endless is unknown and untested. It is generally held that you have years of funding already secured. Decades? Unknown.

One thought on “Guest Post: Notes on an Ongoing Behavioural Cryptofamilial Study from B. D. Davis

Leave a Reply

