Throwback Thursday: the oldest two, the youngest three

Hi sisters. I had a bout of nostalgia recently while looking through a box of old things. I found some lovely pictures.

Here’s the first one:

J and R 1981

Dad, being the good historian, wrote the date on the back: 4/5/81. I was 6 1/2 months old. Janna was three. We lived in the house next to Uncle Bob and Aunt Betts and their boys, before we moved to East Valley. I don’t remember any of that. My first memories are of the brick house we all grew up in. When I see this picture, I look at the way Janna is holding me, and I think about the steadying, loving presence of my big sister. Even at this young age, she was always there to support me. I have never known a world without Janna and I’m so very glad she’s always been there for me, and for all of us. Now that I have two children I realize what everyone has been telling me: kids are just themselves, and personalities can be so very different from the beginning. Mom and Dad got the calm, peaceful baby first, and then the firebrand! I got it the other way around–Miriam, my high spirited one, and Eve, my calm snow baby. I’m thankful for Mom and Dad’s way of loving our different personalities, and I’m hopeful I can honor my girls’ ways of being the same way.

So, I didn’t want to leave out the rest of you! I found this picture too:

M J and E, waiting for bus

Here’s the youngest three, waiting for the bus on the first day of school. This one was not dated, so I don’t know the year. I’m guessing maybe Esther was starting school for the first time, but I’m not sure. Martha was already showing her unique fashion sense by wearing a Chinese red silk jacket to school. Jewel was being the protective older sister, and Esther is looking calm and wise beyond her years, like I always think of her.

These two pictures make me think of the natural “break” between the sister groups–the 4 1/2 years that separate me and Martha. They make me think of how we all relate to each other, and how that has changed over the years. I’m so glad Martha and I get along now, as I was a terrible bullying older sister to her growing up. Martha and I became mothers at the same time and now I miss her a lot, and I keep wishing that we were closer to share all the ups and downs of parenting small children together.

Hope you all are staying warm and cozy where you are. Wishing we could all be together. It would be a good night to huddle around the kerosene heater reading while the arctic wind howls outside.

Much love to you all,

your sentimental sister Rachel

3 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: the oldest two, the youngest three

  1. Since Rachel must be off to college, this might be 1998, in which case, Martha was 13, Jewel was 10, and Esther was 6 almost 7. Esther might be going into second grade. After doing kindergarten, she went into second grade, if I remember correctly. Nice post, Rachel, as always.

  2. Lovely. It is sweet to think back on the way we related to each other growing up. We need to write down more of our memories so we don’t forget all the ups and downs :-).

Leave a Reply

