This and That: Waiting is the hardest part

Dear sisters,

Here I am at 38 weeks, expecting to have a baby any day, but also hoping that he waits til next week to come. I have two concerts this weekend that I would love to sing in, so anytime after Sunday at 5pm is fine by me! While I want to wait, I feel antsy at the same time. Physically I’m pretty comfortable still. I’ve slept so wonderfully the past two nights, waking up briefly to use the bathroom, but falling right back asleep. Being on my feet for a long period of time can tire me out, but luckily I have a few days/afternoons at home each week when I can be lazy or take a bath if I’m feeling achy. It’s nice to have 3 mornings of work at the library, keeping me semi active and breaking up my waiting time. 

I think my favorite part of this waiting time is how focused Kevin and I are on what is coming. We’re both thinking about it a lot and it makes for fun conversations. Last night Kevin told me that he has spent awhile imagining what it would be like if he was the one who had to have the baby. I tried to get him to tell me all his thoughts, but he said, “I don’t want to share too much, because I don’t want to freak you out! Basically, there are only 3 options for you: having a baby cut out of you, having a baby without drugs, and having a baby with drugs. None of those seem like fun choices. But somehow you seem really relaxed about it and I don’t know how you do it.” He spends his time imagining life with the baby here, what the time will be like at the hospital holding him and learning how to take care of him. Having our parents come visit. That is so exciting to imagine. I spend more of my time visualizing what I think labor might be like. Coming up with different methods of riding out the pain of contractions and reminding Kevin of coaching methods I think will work and what I don’t think will work. I’m hoping that I won’t lose my sense of humor during labor, I’ve read that being able to laugh or cry is great for opening up your body and relaxing. One of Kevin’s favorite things to do is make me laugh, so I’ve told him he’s got to save some of his best jokes and silliness for labor. Hopefully it works.

Oddly enough, I don’t have any strong musical desires for labor. I love music of course, but it’s not the first thing I turn on when I’m putzing around the house. Many of my days are spent in silence, reading or cleaning or cooking. Every so often I remember to turn on music. I might put together a playlist of music that I think I’ll like to listen to during labor. The characteristics I’m looking for in my labor playlists (I’m making one for slower music, one for faster) include:

  • slower classical music with rich evocative harmonies (Kevin calls it my sad music, I just find it emotionally powerful) , for example Brahms Concerto for Violin, Cello and Orchestra, Op. 102, Movement 2
  • music from some of my favorite soundtracks: I love Ennio Morricone’s stuff, especially recorded by Yo Yo Ma, as well as some of the music from the new Pride & Prejudice and the Lord of the Rings, duh, though I’ll have to choose carefully from LOTR, I don’t think anything from Moria or Mordor will really be helpful…
  • on the faster side: some of Le Vent du Nord, my favorite French Canadian band that always makes me smile and think of evenings playing games at home with family (I love that it’s in another language and so lively), some light bluegrass/folk stuff, probably mainly instrumental. The words might distract me. 

We had another long discussion recently about discipline, which we won’t need to worry about for a few months, but it’s fun to hear Kevin’s thoughts on it and to explore our experiences growing up and gauge what we’ve seen work with the kids we’ve spent time with. It prompted me to request a book from the library that was recommended to me called, “Parenting with Love and Logic.” It seems like it could be great. I’ll let you know after we’ve read it ;-).

I’ll leave you all with some pictures of things around our house that have been making me happy!

SDC12295
These little buddies are sitting upstairs in our bedroom. The monster and the little red giraffe rattle I made. It’s cute to see them all congregated, just waiting for a little boy to play with them!
SDC12293
We rearranged our living room for a murder mystery party last weekend and I love it. It took me awhile to be convinced that kitty cornering the couch was the best move, but we tried every other configuration and everything else made the room look boxy and weird. The huge piano makes decorating the space hard. We moved the rocking chair upstairs from the basement.  I’m excited to have a rocking chair on the main floor to use when baby comes!
Our go bag is ready to be put in the Jeep! All we need to grab before we head to the hospital are some toiletries and things I use everyday.
Our go bag is ready to be put in the Jeep! All we need to grab before we head to the hospital are some toiletries and things I use everyday.

The weather has been kind of cool and rainy here, though this weekend is supposed to be warm. It’s been the perfect week to curl up with a book and get ready for a big life change! I hope my next blog post will be an introduction to our new baby boy and his birth story!!

Love you all,
Jewel

3 thoughts on “This and That: Waiting is the hardest part

  1. Yay Love & Logic! Thinking of you two as parents brings a big smile to my face.
    As for music, Ralph Vaughn Williams’ Symphony No. 5 (in D Major), movement 3 (“Romanza”) is the best. As I’ve told you for years now. 🙂 It has lovely layered harmonies, and is achingly beautiful (what Kevin would call “sad music”.)

  2. Hooray! It’s getting so close! I remember thinking at the end of my first pregnancy, oh wow, what have I gotten myself into? Now the baby has to come out, how does that happen? 🙂 You will be great.
    I may have told you this already, but I didn’t have music going during my labors. I just wanted quiet time to focus on my body and breathing. I can see how soothing music might be good during early labor. I don’t like music going at the same time people are trying to talk–I get overwhelmed by noise easily. You will find out what works best for you!

  3. Oh, I heard the Jurassic Park theme on the radio today and it was so beautiful! I forgot how much I liked it. I think we played it in high school band.

Leave a Reply

