A message from years ago

Dear sisters,

Miriam, Eve and I were in the car yesterday, headed to a potluck with friends. Miriam had brought along one of her favorite books to read on the way: Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle. Do any of you remember reading these books? Mom and Dad had them and gave them to Miriam on our last visit to their house. Miriam loves them. I wonder if they were given to us when Jewel and Esther were little? In any case, I don’t remember reading them as a kid. Now that Miriam is reading them, I’m impressed by the illustrations (some by Hilary Knight of Eloise fame, and one has illustrations by Maurice Sendak!).

mrs. piggle-wiggle

We were talking about plans for this summer. One of the challenging things about having year-round jobs (vs. academic jobs) is what to do with kids all summer! I told Miriam that I was thinking of sending her to Grandma and Grandpa Buckwalter’s house for a week. She could go to art camp at AU. She said she would love it, and then she said, “Mom, I could also take back the Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle books! One of them says Jewel Buckwalter in the front, and then it says ‘give it back soon.'”

I had to laugh. I remember when Jewel and Esther and maybe Martha decided that all our books were going to become a home library, so they went through and wrote the due date/lending period in the front of each one. I told Miriam that message was from a long time ago, and I think it’s okay if she keeps the book!

But I thought Jewel the librarian would love to hear this story.

give it back soon

It makes me happy that Miriam is reading the same books we did as kids, and that messages from her aunts from years ago are getting through.

Hope you all are having a great Saturday.

Much love,

Rachel

2 thoughts on “A message from years ago

  1. This is so wonderful! I’m amazed that she’s reading and loving those books. I loved them so much! It’s fun to read them as an adult too and get a glimpse into the world of Mrs. Piggle Wiggle.

Leave a Reply

