life lately

Hey sisters.

Every day I compose a bit of a letter in my head to you all, only to find myself running out of time to sit down and put it to paper. Life is happening at a frenetic pace these days. I want to slow it down a bit but there’s no sign of that happening this summer. We have two kids, two full time jobs, and we’re buying our first home, so free time is a rare commodity.

I’m trying to remember that it’s summer, and enjoy this brief wonderful season despite all the busy-ness. Miriam and I went to the Groton pool last Saturday for an afternoon swim. I snapped this picture of her which I love. It just says summer, doesn’t it?

beach babe
beach babe

There are a few other summer essentials I’ve been trying to savor before they are gone. At the family reunion, I drank as much mint tea as possible. I love that stuff. I love how it has terroir. Mom’s mint tea, made from the wild mint growing in their creek, tastes different than Aunt Debbie’s, made with applemint from her garden. Mint tea tastes like summer to me.

I get in summer as much as I can on the weekends. This past weekend we visited Krestia’s parents’ house. Just like Mom and Dad’s, they have a wonderful place in the country with woods and gardens and space to run free and barefoot through the yard. Shortly after we got there, Miriam and Eve ended up on the porch swing together. I managed to snap a few quick photos. Here they are, my summery girls, barefoot and in summer dresses.

porch swing 1

We left Miriam there for a four day visit. I hope she is getting in all the summer essentials–spending her days barefoot, picking blueberries and having so much free time to read and play and wander. That’s the good stuff. I’m trying to hold onto the little bits of summer I get to have. What about you all? What are your summer essentials?

Don’t let this fading summer pass you by….

Love,

Rachel

2 thoughts on “life lately

  1. I learned the word “terrior” today. Yeah, the summer is going so fast. I can’t believe how fast the summer is going. I had so many things I was going to get done this summer… I’m excited for your new house! Visiting you there is definitely on my list.

Leave a Reply

