My chocolate chip secret

Dear sisters,

Somehow I’ve perfected making chocolate chip cookies. That is, if you want crispy on the bottom, chewy in the center chocolate chip cookies. This is one of the recipes I have memorized, maybe because I’ve been making it at least once a month for the last 3 years. I always feel a bit sad if I don’t have chocolate chip cookie dough in the freezer.

That’s the biggest part of my secret: keeping the dough in the freezer! I use Smitten Kitchen’s crispy chewy chocolate chip cookie recipe and I’m fairly lackadaisical about measuring things. Here’s how it usually goes down:

  • Melt 1.5 sticks of butter, put in mixing bowl with 1 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of white sugar. Mix it together super well.
  • Add in 1 egg and 1 egg yolk as well as 1 Tablespoon of vanilla. I never measure the vanilla. I usually just pour in about a tablespoon, then squeeze in some more because we LOVE vanilla. Mix this together. Sometimes I mix this for a bit longer to whip it up a bit.
  • Throw in 1/2 tsp kosher salt and 1/2 tsp baking soda, mix it for a sec or two, then add in 2 cups of flour. Recipes always suggest you mix together the dry ingredients first and add them in all together, but I usually only do that for cakes and pancakes and the like. In cookies it has never seemed detrimental if I don’t. Mix it til everything is well combined.
  • Add as many chocolate chips as you like. It’s great to chop up part of a chocolate bar as well so that you have some chips that melt more slowly and the small bits of chocolate bar that melt very easily.
  • I usually eat approximately 5 cookies worth of cookie dough. Then I scoop the rest onto a cookie sheet to freeze. After they’re frozen I put em in a bag and pull out 4-6 cookies at a time for the two of us to devour fresh.
  • The key to achieving chewy/crispy perfection is putting them in the 350 degree oven frozen. The bottom gets nicely browned with that sugary/caramel crust and the top of the cookie still looks slightly underdone. Pull them out when you’re kind of wondering if they’re truly done. Let them cool on the pan. After some trial and error you’ll find that sweet spot with enough browning and enough gooey center. It’s so so good.

_MG_4167

That’s it! That’s my secret to cookie perfection. I think having frozen cookie dough is one way to feel like a superstar host. Being able to serve people (or treat yourself to) warm chocolate chip cookies at a moment’s notice is pretty wonderful.

_MG_4168.JPG
This picture doesn’t quite do justice to how delicious they actually were :-). 

I know some of you sisters are more into delicious home made brownies. I held out for awhile and told myself brownie mixes were fine, but have recently made the switch to amazing one bowl brownies. They’re still secondary to my one true love: chocolate chip cookies. Now that I have an ice cream maker attachment for my kitchenaid I can have warm cookie sundaes with homemade vanilla bean ice cream and homemade hot fudge. But that’s a rare treat.

I hope I’ve been able to give you some virtual dessert today :-). Come visit and I’d be happy to pop some cookie dough in the oven just for you!

Love,
Jewel

One thought on “My chocolate chip secret

  1. So, Miriam will only eat cut-out cookies with frosting and sprinkles, and Krestia prefers oatmeal cookies. I love chocolate chip but have a hard time making them only for myself! These look amazing and how smart you are to always have some in the freezer.

Leave a Reply

