The mind of my 10 month old mover

Dear sisters,

Walking around with Calvin is such a funny activity. His mind is working in such a unique way as he tries to figure out the world and how to move around it. Here are some of my favorite moments with my little boy.

IMG_4141

He absolutely loves doors. He walks into a room and immediately goes to close the door, then stands at it and pats it looking up at the door knob and then up at me and back at the door knob until I open it for him (if I choose not there is much screeching until he finds a new door to open and close). The process of opening the door is pretty dangerous. He hits himself in the head at least once and usually falls back against me, but he thinks it’s worth the bodily harm-and rarely cries about it-because he’ll walk out of the room, turn in a big circle and go right back into the room to close the door again. Repeating things is a lot of fun.

IMG_4142
Right now he’s walking around still holding onto my hand. He took his first steps Saturday night. He pulled himself up on me and then, without any prompting, walked right over to the couch to say hi to one of our friends who was visiting. We were shocked! He never does that without a lot of incentive, he still prefers guided walking. He loves to hold one of our hands with his left hand, then he’ll pick up the most random things and hold them over his head with his right hand, as proud as can be. He routinely picks up one of our shoes, his blanket, our feather duster, or a spoon and parades around the house every so often bending down to pat the ground or a wall with his prized possession.

_MG_4147
I’m not doing anything dangerous Mom…

This kid adores anything with a cord, if it makes a sound it’s even better: laptops, my hairdryer, the blender, but the most amazing contraption of them all is our lightweight convertible vacuum (can be an upright or a handheld). We use the vacuum to pick up after dinner every night since Calvin throws crumbs all around the dining room and stuffs them down into his high chair. He lets us vacuum him off and would probably die of happiness if we just let him play with it all day. He’ll walk around the room holding onto the body of the vacuum as I vacuum. Looks like we’re raising a mini Kevin who loves vacuuming ;-). Because of this love of machines, the unfinished side of our basement is his favorite place in the house. He loves to crawl around and tries to chew on our broom, the hoses from our air conditioner and dehumidifier and play with our dirty boots. He gets to explore in there for a little bit while we’re doing laundry or hanging diapers and he makes the most of it. It usually ends with me running over to him saying, “Gross! Let’s not play with that,” and going back to the finished side.

IMG_4144
PLEASE PULL ME UP AND WALK AROUND WITH ME!

Maybe I was just naive, but I wasn’t prepared for how gung ho this baby would be to move around and explore. Some moms have told me, “Welcome to having a boy,” but I think it’s not just that he’s a boy, but has an exploratory nature as well. I know other baby boys who are calmer and more physically tentative, and on the flip side, I definitely know of some gung ho baby girls too! Calvin’s biggest motivation is to get closer to me or Kevin (but I’m the biggest draw). If I put him down in his pack n play to hang out as I put away his laundry, he walks around and eventually starts trying to climb out. He goes in an exer-saucer while I shower and get ready for the day and if he’s in there for longer than 10 minutes he’s wrapping his arms around the side, doing a crunch and trying to pull himself out. He spends most of his bath time figuring out how to stand up and then goes to bite the faucet. Kevin and I are excited for Calvin to learn how to walk so we don’t have to hold his hand all of the time, but I can also see how much trouble he’s going to get into as soon as he’s free to roam around the house!

Every once in awhile Kevin and I imagine that if we set Calvin down with his toys he’ll sit there for 10-15 minutes and play with them calmly so we can do something “useful.” Calvin sits there for approximately 2-4 minutes then crawls to something dangerous and pulls himself up on it. If we’re not fast enough he usually falls over and looks at us like we’ve totally abandoned him. So we go back to walking around for a little bit :-).

Whenever I think about how fast these days seem to fly by I feel like saying every parenting cliche in the book: “Enjoy it while it lasts!” “Can you believe how fast he’s growing?!” “It seems like he was just a tiny little baby I could hold in my arms.” All of them apply and yet seem like such wimpy phrases to describe the feeling of watching a baby grow and develop in front of your eyes.

Love to you all,
Jewel

5 thoughts on “The mind of my 10 month old mover

    1. Thanks so much! I’m loving your blog too, you’ve been followed back :-). Good luck with labor, I hope it goes smoothly for you! My sisters and I have at least 3 birth stories on this here blog that may provide some inspiration.

  1. Wonderful as always, dearest Jewel! You are now entering what I considered the stage that requires the most parental oversight, when children can get around and have no sense at all of the dangers. It is an exceptionally cute and fun age as well! Love the photos! Love you and Calvin and Kevin, too! Mom

  2. Yes, I agree with Laurel. It’s a wonderful age, but parents need to be relentless in watching, This is the age when it can be a great help when the child has older siblings who are helping to watch, or when, back in the day, people lived more in community and there were other family members around to help. I have seen a child’s hands severely burned because the mother turned her back on an open oven door and her child came up and put his hands down on it, and another child burned because her mother let her child sit on the counter beside the stove while she was cooking. I almost let my Jacinda drown when I was preparing a big pot of tomatoes outside and I was carrying the large, heavy pot back into the house to put it on the stove to start cooking. We had had a big rain the day before and the creek that had, for months, been practically dry and in which she would play, sitting on the rocks and putting her toes in the little puddles, while I hung up the laundry, was now a raging, rushing river five feet deep. She was such a good girl and always obeyed me, so I asked her to wait there for a minute for Mommy. I walked through the porch, opened the door, set the pot on the stove and when I went back, she wasn’t there. I looked both directions, down the sidewalk, and with fear, my heart prayed, “Which way, Lord?” I ran around the nearest corner of the house to catch just a glimpse of her curly head of hair above the bank. I sprinted and grabbed her by her dress as she was stepping in to that raging torrent. If I had been one second later, I wouldn’t have seen her head, and she would have been washed down the creek. I still cry when I think of it….how wrong I was to not set down that heavy pot and bring her into the porch while I went inside…and yet I rejoice that God was merciful to me. I also realize that it was my awareness of the danger that day, and my being on “high alert” that caused me to do everything quickly and hurry back outside that enabled me to see her head disappear. I’d waited a long time for that child….I was almost 40 years old at that point. To comfort me, others had their stories too, Another little girl at church had almost drowned the week before. Her father had left her in the care of her older siblings in a creek where he was working, fortunately, downstream from them. He looked up from his work to see her body floating toward him, face down, He picked her up, got the water out of her lungs and got her breathing again. Whew! My grandma told of looking up and seeing her one year-old son standing in the median of the busy highway in front of their house in East Petersburg and being grateful that she had dressed him in red overalls that day. She didn’t dare to call to him, lest he turn and run to her. She just waited until there was a break in the traffic and walked out and picked him up and carried him back home.

    The joys are wondrous. The hardest part is just how relentless the care needs to be and the exhaustion. I remember the fear of falling asleep while my child was still awake. There are so many “little” dangers inside the house….pinched fingers from doors, shock from electrical outlets and cords, drowning in a bathtub. Don’t mean to scare you, but just to encourage you that every day that you put your child to sleep at night is a successful day….you’ve worked hard that day just keeping him alive and well. 🙂 Blessings to you! PS My apologies if I’ve told you these stories before.

    1. Amazing stories, so good to hear them all. Thanks for sharing! Now that I”m a mom those kinds of stories put me on high alert, it is terrifying to think of anything like that happening to Calvin. But at the same time, we trust in God and that we will hopefully be aware if anything dangerous could be happening!

Leave a Reply

